Call for Award Nominations

The call for nominations for IHA’s Health Literacy Awards is now open!

Submit a Nomination

IHA’s Annual Health Literacy Awards

Each year, the Institute for Healthcare Advancement honors people that have made outstanding achievements in health literacy by presenting them with an IHA Health Literacy Award. We honor award winners at a special luncheon, held at our Annual Health Literacy Conference in May.

Award Categories

IHA accepts award nominations in 4 categories: Innovative Programs, Published Materials, Research, and International.

  • Innovative Programs: Projects that demonstrate innovative, practical and effective solutions to addressing limited health literacy.
  • Published Materials: Written materials (digital or printed) that contribute to effective communication with those with limited health literacy.
  • Research: Studies using well-defined methodologies that further illustrate the relationship between literacy skills and health outcomes, cost, or disparities; or present evidence of effective health literacy interventions.
  • International: Efforts outside of the United States that empower people to better health through improved health literacy.

In addition to a personalized crystal award, category winners receive:

  • An honorarium of $500 for 1
  • Complimentary conference registration for 1
  • Round-trip coach airfare to the conference for 1
  • 2 nights’ hotel accommodations (1 room) at the Hotel Irvine
How to Submit an Award Nomination

The call for nominations for IHA’s Annual Health Literacy Awards is now open. Follow these instructions to submit an application:

  1. Fill out the online form here by 5 pm Pacific Time on February 15, 2019. A confirmation email will be sent upon completion of the form.
  2. If you do not receive a confirmation within 2 business days, please feel free to follow up with Rachel Roberts at 562-690-4001 ext. 217.
Individuals and groups are eligible for nominations. Groups will be considered as one entry.
Selection Process

Once the award nomination period closes, a panel of judges evaluates all entries and selects 1 winner for each category. To qualify to win, the project must:

  1. Empower people to better health.
  2. Address an aspect of health literacy.
  3. Aim to solve an identified healthcare problem.
  4. Be current with a completion date within the past 2 years.
  5. Impact or have the potential to affect the greater healthcare community.