Call for Award Nominations

Call for Award Nominations

The call for IHA’s 20th Annual Virtual Health Literacy Award nominations is now open!

IHA’s 20th Annual Virtual Health Literacy Awards

Do you know someone who is influencing change in health literacy through research, programs, or written communication? Each year, the Institute for Healthcare Advancement recognizes those who have made outstanding achievements in health literacy. Award winners are selected by an independent group of judges and presented with an IHA Health Literacy Award. This year we will honor winners with a $500 honorarium and feature their work (to include photographs) on the IHA Conference website.

Award Categories

IHA accepts nominations in 4 categories: Innovative Programs, Published Materials, Research, and International.
  • Innovative Programs: Projects that demonstrate innovative, practical, and effective solutions to addressing limited health literacy.
  • Published Materials: Written resources (digital or print) that contribute to effective communication with those with limited health literacy.
  • Research: Studies using well-defined methodologies that further illustrate the relationship between literacy skills and health outcomes, cost, or disparities; or present evidence of effective health literacy interventions.
  • International: Efforts outside of the United States that empower people to better health through improved health literacy.


In addition to the $500 honorarium, category winners will receive a personalized crystal award.

New this year! We will be presenting our award winners with a digital badge to display your accomplishment through your social media channels.
Award Badge

How To Submit an Award Nomination

Individuals and groups are eligible for nominations. Groups will be considered as one entry. Follow these instructions to submit an application:

  1. Complete the online form here by 5pm Pacific Time on Monday, February 22, 2021. You will receive a confirmation email upon completion of the form.
  2. If you do not receive a confirmation within 2 business days, please feel free to follow up with Rachel Roberts at

Selection Process

Once the award nomination period closes, a group of independent judges will evaluate all entries through a double-blind process. They will select 1 winner for each category. To qualify to win, the project must:

  1. Empower people to better health.
  2. Address an aspect of health literacy.
  3. Aim to solve an identified healthcare problem.
  4. Have been completed within the past 2 years.
  5. Impact or have the potential to affect the greater healthcare community.

Important Dates

January 22, 2021
Call for award nominations opens

February 22, 2021
Deadline to submit a nomination for IHA's Annual Health Literacy Awards.

March 12, 2021
IHA award nominees are notified of the judging results.

Call for Judges

Would you like to serve on a panel of judges to select 2021 IHA Health Literacy Award winners? Judge applications are due Tuesday, February 16, 2021. Click here for more information and to submit a judge application.